Pizza Dough Friday

I hadn’t planned to post today, but as I was mixing dinner, decided to share.

Most Fridays now are homemade pizza night.I mix the dough in the morning and leave it in a bowl covered in a wet towel, around noon Phil puts the bowl in the fridge, and when I come home I pour a glass of wine and make us some pizza. Super-easy end to the week.

I’d been using the pizza dough recipe in The Pioneer Woman Cooks (love this book!), which is also online here. But recently I started using a great recipe from the new book Artisan Pizza and Flatbread in Five Minutes a Day. The recipe, printed in Mother Earth News, makes enough for six to eight pizzas, the idea being that you make a big batch, keep it in the fridge, and cut off chunks as you need them over a two-week period. That works great for people who don’t have jars of condiments falling out of the fridge like we do. Consequently, until the fridge is under control, I halve the recipe and make three pizzas when I get home.

Here’s the super-easy recipe, halved from Mother Earth News. If you’ve got more fridge space than me, you can double it:

1-3/4 cups warm (100 degrees) water
1/2 Tbsp. yeast
1/2 Tbsp. kosher salt
3-3/4 cups flour

Pour the water in a bowl. Sprinkle on the yeast and salt. Stir around a bit — they don’t have to be completely dissolved. Pour in the flour, stir until it all comes together; don’t knead, just get a sticky dough that resembles muffin batter. Let it rise for a few hours — until doubled in size — then put in the fridge.

After you roll and top, bake the pizzas at 500 degrees for about 10 minutes. Done and done. (My favorite is the pizza dough slathered with pesto and topped with leftover cooked chicken and parmesan.)

6 thoughts on “Pizza Dough Friday

  1. We eat a lot of pizza too. I use the Master recipe from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day. I always have the dough in my fridge ready to be used for pizza, loaves of bread, or pizza rolls. I made a batch just yesterday…. I think we’ll have pizza for dinner tonight too. Thanks for the inspiration!

    • I love that book, too. I’m making more sourdough now, so haven’t used it as much lately, but I’m about to jump back in. I loved the pictures of your bread on the blog!

  2. Pizza dough freezes really well. You could make the whole recipe and stick half in the freezer, then just stick frozen dough in the fridge Friday morning to thaw…

    • I don’t know why I hadn’t thought of that, Christine! I used to freeze the Pioneer Woman pizza dough, but for some reason it didn’t occur to me to freeze this. That would be great to not have to only have to make it every other Friday morning. Thanks!

  3. Pingback: Thoughts on the Dinner Hour | The Christmas Plan

  4. Pingback: Shaking Up Friday Night Pizza Night: Slow-Cooker Pork Tacos | The Christmas Plan

Leave a Reply

