Easy Cleaning: Our Beloved Pot Scrubber

Old Faithful and his replacement.

More than 10 years ago, Phil’s uncle gave everyone in the family a straw pot scrubber for Christmas. We all kindly said thank-you and exchanged glances. But when we started to use them, we suddenly saw the light. Those little scrubbers were miracle workers with a nasty pot.

I’d even happened into a grocery once that had them, so I bought a back-up for 99 cents. And then my original held up so well, I finally gave the replacement to my mom.

But the years dragged on and even the most dedicated and long-lasting pot scrubber is going to show its age. I’d periodically thought of swiping my mom’s when I was at her house, but I knew she’d know it was me.

And then it got bad enough that its wire casing fell off, but Phil and I repaired it with a rubber band and kept scrubbing, watching its precious straw fall out. I’d periodically look for a replacement, but never found one.

One day last summer while Sylvia and I were dropping Max at a party in another part of town, we drove by a Mexican grocery store I hadn’t seen before and stopped in. THERE WAS A WHOLE DISPLAY OF POT SCRUBBERS. Just there for the buying. I bought two, knowing this would be about 15 years of successful pot scrubbing.

I handle all of our finances right now and I keep forgetting to compile a list of usernames and passwords of all the financial institutions we work with. But I was sure to show Phil immediately where I’d put the backup pot scrubber just in case, God Forbid, something were to happen to me. So he won’t be able to access our stock accounts, but his dishes will be sparkly.

You can pretty much find these, for $1, in most true Mexican groceries. And don’t forget: They make great gifts, even if your relatives initially appear nonplussed and exchange exasperated looks.

2 thoughts on “Easy Cleaning: Our Beloved Pot Scrubber

  1. “I handle all of our finances right now, and I keep forgetting to compile a list of usernames and passwords of all the financial institutions we work with. But I was sure to show Phil immediately where I’d put the backup pot scrubber just in case, God Forbid, something were to happen to me. ”

    Oh I cried with laughter before I cringed cause I identify so completely with that point!

    Awesome blog!

Leave a Reply

