Homemade Alternative: Body Balm

A couple years ago a friend started selling Neal’s Yard Remedies products, and I got hooked on the Wild Rose Beauty Balm. As frugal as I typically am, I somehow ignored the $65 price point for a little 1.8-ouce jar. When we went to one income, the beauty balm had to go. I tried a couple homemade alternatives, but hated all of them — either too hard (like lip balm) or too squishy and icky feeling.

Then I found this recipe, augmented very slightly from Organic Body Care Recipes. I love it. Love it. It fills two recycled Wild Rose Beauty Balm jars for, from my very rough calculations, about $5. So less than 5 percent of the commercial product’s price. This doesn’t smell like Wild Rose, but it has a really lovely, summery smell, which is especially nice in the middle of winter when I’m most plagued with rough skin.

Note: I’ve been playing with some beeswax recipes lately, and melted beeswax is tough to completely clean from utensils. I designated a one-cup Pyrex measuring cup to be my dedicated beeswax melter.

Homemade Alternative Body Balm

1 Tbsp. cocoa butter
1 ounce (2 Tbsp.) beeswax
1/4 cup coconut oil
9 Tbsp. apricot kernel oil
A few drops essential oil, if you like

Put all the ingredients in the top of a double boiler (or a dedicated Pyrex measuring cup in a pot of gently boiling water) and gently melt together. Remove from the heat and let this sit for about 10 minutes. Stir gently for a minute or two, then pour into containers. (This exactly fills two old 1.8-ounce glass jars.) Let cool completely before capping.

Lovely, lovely, lovely.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Alternative: Body Balm

  1. Cindy, your blog is fun. Your body butter sounds nice. I wanted to tell you that a 70 years-old friend of mine (and long time health fanatic) has recently started using coconut oil for EVERYTHING food-wise. She swears it cures everything. I had always heard that it clogged up your arteries. She seems to be using it by the gallon. I guess we’ll wait and see………
    And also, what I have always loved about Neal’s Yard is the beautiful blue bottles and jars and didn’t care what was inside!!

    • Hi, Judy: That’s half of what I loved/love about Neal’s Yard, too — the jars. I had a habit for a bit while my friend was making a go of her business, and I’ve kept all of them. I wish more manufacturers would learn to use beautiful containers; I’d pay more for them. And I’ve been reading a lot about using coconut oil as a fat in cooking. I’m curious to try it, but am having trouble even *thinking* about giving up olive oil. We literally go through gallons.

Leave a Reply

